Kodokan Martial Arts Students' Awards

These awards are given out at the end of each year. They are:

  • Outstanding Senior Shield for Anshin Ryu
  • Outstanding Junior Shield for Anshin Ryu
  • Dave Blackett Shield for Anshin Ryu
  • Little Dragons Medal
  • Top Martial Artist Of The Year

There is a new award that was started in 2010 to incorporate Anshin Ryu, Kamishin Ryu & Matayoshi Kobudo Kodokan. It is the Top Martial Artist of the Year and was brought in to give the other schools a chance to competed, i.e. Kamishin Ryu and Matayoshi Kobudo Kodokan – Darlington Group.

The winners for 2014 are as follows:

2014 Top Awards
Junior Karate, Dave Blackett Award & Little Dragon's Medal Top Martial Artist & Anshin Senior Karate Award
2014-Shield-Awards 2014-Senior-Shield-Awards
From Left To Right: Little Dragon Winners Jack Gibson, Dave Blackett Shield Winner Jack Davison, & Top Junior Karate Winner Evie Peacock From Left to Right: For Top Martial Artist Stuart Bateman & Senior Anshin Ryu Karate Joseph Jones


Rules Associated With The Winning of These Awards

  1. Top Martial Artist of the Year
    This shield is awarded to the top martial artist from any of the three systems, Anshin Ryu, Kamishin Ryu & Matayoshi Kobudo Kodokan UK Darlington Group. It's presented to the student that has impressed and inspired the instructors for their dedication and outstanding training over the year.
  2. Outstanding Senior and Junior Award
    These awards are based upon Attendance, Grading Result, Top Grade Score and Sensei Score.
  3. Dave Blackett Shield
    This shield was presented by Dave Blackett, a previous student, before he emigrated to Australia. He wanted to give an award which could only be won by lower senior or junior grades, 5 kyu and below. He also set out the criteria for the winning of this award. The following text Dave had engraved on the center part of the shield:
    "May this shield inspire students of the Kazoku Karate Club to reach their
    desired goals in appreciation of the help given by Fred, Chris & Stuart Bateman "
  4. Little Dragons Medal
    These awards are based upon Grading Result and Sensei score, which is based upon how the student has impressed them over the year.

Hall of Fame

Top Martial Artist Of The Year

This award was introduced in 2010 to incorporate all the schools of Kodokan Martial Arts

Year Name Category Type
2010 M. Dent Matayoshi Kobudo Kodokan Single
2011 K. Large Matayoshi Kobudo Kodokan Single
2012 M. Faux Matayoshi Kobudo Kodokan Single
2013 M. Dean Anshin Ryu Karate Single
2014 S. Bateman Kamishin Ryu Karate Single


Outstanding Senior Award

This award was introduced in the founding year of Kazoku Karate back in 1992.

Year Name Type
1992 G. Lamb & J. McKim Joint
1993 G. Lamb Single
1994 R. Waters Single
1995 M. Hieghtly Single
1996 R. Waters Single
1997 E. Hopper Single
1998 M. Laycock Single
1999 M. Laycock Single
2000 M. Laycock Single
2001 – 2003 No winners
2004 J. Kotze Single
2005 J. Kotze Single
2006 J. Kotze Single
2007 M. Dent Single
2008 J. Kotze Single
2009 J. Ballie Single
2010 J. Ballie Single
2011 A. Lee Single
2012 No winners
2013 J. Jones Single
2014 J. Jones Single

Outstanding Junior Award

This award was introduced in the founding year of Kazoku Karate back in 1992.

Year Name Type
1992 M. Welsh Single
1993 M. Welsh Single
1994 T. Devin Single
1995 K. Davidson Single
1996 D. Kelly Single
1997 P. Shepperson Single
1998 R. Downs & P. Shepperson Joint
1999 P. Shepperson Single
2000 D. Trumper & H. Mohamad Joint
2001 – 2003 No Winners
2004 R. Johnson Single
2005 J. Bale Single
2006 B. Gay Single
2007 R. Johnson Single
2008 J. Johnson Single
2009 E. Stapley Single
2010 J. Boyd Single
2011 Michael Dean Single
2012 Beckie Challans Single
2013 Tighe Stapley Single
2014 Evie Peacock Single

Dave Blackett Shield Award

Year Name Category Type
1993 G. Hutton Junior Single
1994 B. Wood Junior Single
1995 G. Hopper Senior Single
1996 P. Shepperson & P. Kelly Junior Joint
1997 R. Pringle Junior Single
1998 S. McStravick & A. Watson Junior & Senior Joint
1999 T. Marshall Senior Single
2000 P. Johnson Junior Single
2001 – 2003 No Winners
2004 S. Hulbert Senior Single
2005 T. Baldwin-Sykes & J. Todd Junior Joint
2006 M. Dean Junior Single
2007 A. Pallister Junior Single
2008 T. Stapley Junior Single
2009 A. Sisk Junior Single
2010 C. Stapley Junior Single
2011 Hazel Wake Junior Single
2012 Bradley Downing Junior Single
2013 Indie Smith Junior Single
2014 Jack Davison Junor Single

Little Dragons Medal

Year Name
2004 C. Hope
2005 J. Massey
2006 B. Fooks
2007 No Winners
2008 T. Leeming
2009 No Winners
2010 N. & C. Stockton
2011 Logan Corbett
2012 Bobby Smith
2013 J. Gibson & L. Charlton-Johnston
2014 Jack Gibson